San Diego State Football
Juwan Washington, a San Diego State running back, is attracting pre-season attention. Photo credit:

Two San Diego State University football players were named to preseason watch lists this week.

Linebacker Kyahva Tezino made the watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award, for college football’s defensive player of the year.

Running back Juwan Washington found himself on the Maxwell Award list for a second straight season. The honor is for player of the year.

Tezino is coming off a junior season in which he logged 127 tackles and earned first-team all-Mountain West honors. His 127 tackles rank eighth in SDSU single-season history.

The Bednarik Award, presented to the defensive player of the year, is named for Chuck Bednarik, a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and the NFL Hall of Fame.

Washington rushed for 999 yards with 10 touchdowns last year, despite missing four games due to injury. He ranked second in the conference in rushing yards per game.

Last year, Washington joined Marshall Faulk and Rashaad Penny as the only San Diego State players to start a season with two straight 150-yard rushing games.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. Maxwell, has been given to the college player of the year since 1937.

Semifinalists for the Bednarik and Maxwell awards will be announced in October.

The Aztecs finished 2018 with a 7-6 record.

SDSU’s Mountain West home schedule features the teams that finished atop the West Division standings last year, Fresno State and Nevada, and two top cross-division opponents, Utah State and Wyoming.

The Aztecs kick off the season at home Aug. 31 against Weber State.

Staff reports