Wil Myers Photo by Chris Stone

Wil Myers of the host San Diego Padres will bat cleanup for the National League in Tuesday’s All-Star Game at Petco Park, Major League Baseball announced Monday.

Myers, the NL Player of the Month in June, has slugged 19 homers and knocked in 60 runs so far this season. The former American League Rookie of the Year with Tampa Bay is coming off a pair of injury-plagued seasons to establish himself as the Padres’ top offensive threat.

The lineups for both squads were settled as were the starting pitchers — Johnny Cueto of the San Francisco Giants for the NL and Chris Sale of the Chicago White Sox for the American League.

The right-handed Cueto is 13-1 in 18 starts, and his 2.47 earned run average ranks behind only the Dodgers’ Clayton Kershaw, 1.79, and Giants teammate Madison Bumgarner, 1.94, for the best in the majors. Kershaw is out with an injury, while Bumgarner cannot be used because he pitched Sunday — a one-hit shutout of the Arizona Diamondbacks.

The left-handed Sale has a 14-3 record with a 3.38 ERA for the White Sox.

The National League lineup as announced by Major League Baseball:

— Ben Zobrist, second base, Chicago Cubs;

— Bryce Harper, right field, Washington Nationals,

— former University of San Diego slugger Kris Bryant, third base, Cubs;

— Myers;

— Buster Posey, catcher, Giants;

— Anthony Rizzo, first base, Cubs;

— Marcell Ozuna, center field, Miami Marlins;

— Carlos Gonzalez, left field, Colorado Rockies; and

— Addison Russell, shortstop, Cubs.

The American League lineup:

— Jose Altuve, second base, Houston Astros;

— Mike Trout, center field, Los Angeles Angels;

— Manny Machado, third base, Baltimore Orioles;

— David Ortiz, designated hitter, Boston Red Sox;

— Xander Bogaerts, shortstop, Red Sox;

— Eric Hosmer, first base, Kansas City Royals;

— Mookie Betts, right field, Red Sox;

— Salvador Perez, catcher, Royals; and

— Jackie Bradley Jr., left field, Red Sox.

Trout has won the Most Valuable Player award in the last two All-Star Games, the first player to earn the honor in consecutive years.

—City News Service

Show comments