One-year-old Cassidy Cates from Oceanside was one of the youngest Padre fans at Peoria Sports Complex on Saturday.

The Cleveland Cavaliers won the first major championship for Cleveland since 1964 by defeating the Golden State Warriors in game 7 of the NBA Finals.

The victory relinquishes the vaunted title of “saddest sports city in America” to America’s Finest City – San Diego.

The championship is the first for Cleveland since Paul and Jim Brown led the Browns to an NFL Championship in 1964.

That title came one year after the last championship won by a San Diego team, the San Diego Chargers.

That team blew out the Boston Patriots in a 51-10 win to capture the first and only championship for San Diego.

Since then, the city has endured 109 consecutive seasons without a title.

Three teams have reached the championship game/series –  the 1984 San Diego Padres, 1994 Chargers and 1998 Padres.

All three teams, however, endured demoralizing losses.

The Chargers, for instance, lost to the San Francisco 49ers in a 49-26 drubbing. In that game, 49ers quarterback Steve Young set a Super Bowl record with six passing touchdowns.

The 1984 Padres lost 4-1 in the World Series, but were one-upped by the 1998 team, which was swept by the New York Yankees, losing the final game at Qualcomm Stadium.

Philip Rivers seems to hold the best opportunity to bring a title to San Diego, but his playing career is nearing its conclusion.

Rivers brought the Chargers to the 2008 AFC Championship – with a torn ACL – but lost 21-12 to the New England Patriots.

Show comments