Aztec Hall of Fame Men's Basketball
San Diego State named a coach and four athletes to its Hall of Fame, including Xavier Thames. Photo credit:

The San Diego State athletic department named its 2019 class for the Aztec Hall of Fame, including a former coach and standouts in basketball, soccer and track.

The group of five inductees for this year’s class:

Jim Dietz, baseball coach, 1972-2002: Coached at the University of Oregon before arriving at SDSU. Retired with 1,231-750-18 (.620) record, which once ranked seventh among active Division I coaches. He coached eventual major leaguers Tony Gwynn, Bud Black, Mark Grace, Dave Smith and Travis Lee.

Tally Hall, men’s soccer, 2003-06: The goalkeeper helped the Aztecs reach the 2005 and 2006 NCAA Tournament. He ranks third on the Aztecs’ all-time list in saves (256) and fourth in shutouts. He played eight seasons with the Houston Dynamo of Major League Soccer and made the 2011 All-Star team.

Jené Morris, women’s basketball, 2008-10: Lead SDSU to its first-ever Sweet 16 appearance at the 2010 NCAA Tournament. Named Mountain West Defensive Player of the Year in 2009 and 2010. Became the first Aztec selected in the WNBA Draft, going to the Indiana Fever with the 11th overall pick.

Xavier Thames, men’s basketball, 2011-14: Named Mountain West Player of the Year in 2014. Guided SDSU to two Mountain West titles and three NCAA berths, including making it to the 2014 Sweet 16. The team enjoyed a No. 5 national ranking in his senior year, along the way to a record of 31-5.

Shanieka Thomas, track and field, 2011-14: She’s a three-time college triple jump national champion, in 2013 and 2014. Also a xix-time first-team All-American for the triple jump. She held the title of 2018 Jamaican national champion in the event and competed in it the 2016 Olympics, where she finished 14th.

SDSU will officially enshrine the group during an evening ceremony at Montezuma Hall in the Conrad Prebys Aztec Student Union on Oct. 11.

The following night, the 2019 class also will be honored at halftime of SDSU’s home football game against Wyoming, which is set to kick off at 7:30 p.m.

Since its launch in 1988, the Aztec Hall of Fame has honored 154 people and six teams. After a three-year break, the annual ceremonies resumed in 2002 once a permanent home for the Hall of Fame was established.

– Staff reports