2026 World Cup - FIFA
FIFA officials awarding the 2026 World Cup to the United States, Canada and Mexico. Photo courtesy of FIFA

The United States, Mexico and Canada, in a joint bid, was awarded the 2026 men’s FIFA World Cup, the international soccer governing body announced Wednesday.

The move could bring international soccer matches to Southern California for the first time since 1994 when the U.S. last hosted the men’s World Cup.

In a meeting of the 68th FIFA Congress in Moscow, the site of the 2018 World Cup, which is starting Thursday, the United Bid was chosen over Morocco. The North American bid won with 134 votes out of 200 cast. Morocco received 65 votes and one member association abstained.

The U.S. will host 60 matches with Mexico and Canada each hosting 10 matches — all group-stage matches. Last year, FIFA announced it would expand to 48 finalist teams and 80 matches in 2026, up from 32 teams and 64 matches.

The Rose Bowl in Pasadena was mentioned as a possible hosting site for the matches, as was the new Rams Stadium under construction in Inglewood. San Diego, which missed out on hosting a World Cup match in 1994, was not mentioned as one of the possible host sites.

The other U.S. cities under consideration by FIFA are:

  • Atlanta
  • Baltimore
  • Boston
  • Cincinnati
  • Dallas
  • Denver
  • Houston
  • Kansas City
  • Miami
  • Nashville
  • New York/New Jersey
  • Orlando
  • Philadelphia
  • San Francisco Bay Area
  • Seattle
  • Washington, D.C.

The 1994 World Cup hosted by the U.S. was considered to be the most successful and well-attended tournament in the FIFA’s history. It generated $7.05 billion in revenue. The United Bid’s package expects the 2026 tournament to surpass those numbers with a projected $14 billion in revenue. The last World Cup, held in Brazil, earned $4.8 billion. Morocco’s bid projected $5 billion in revenue for FIFA.

This will be the first time the World Cup was hosted by three countries. The last time the tournament was held in more than one countries was in 2002 when South Korea and Japan co-hosted the matches.