A young whiffle ball player sizes up his teammate, the Friar, at a recent Fanfest at Petco Park. Photo by Chris Stone

The San Diego Padres on Wednesday evening announced their 25-man Opening Day roster, which will most likely serve as their Opening Series roster as well.

There were a few surprises, one of which is that the Pads are opening with three catchers, Austin Hedges, A.J. Ellis and Raffy Lopez.

The inclusion of Lopez is a surprise, but the left-handed batter made an impression in the Cactus League that landed him a spot on the roster. Ellis, a 10-year veteran, will work alongside Hedges and the team’s young pitchers.

The other surprise the exclusion of Tyson Ross on the list. Ross is the club’s presumed No. 5 starter but because of a scheduled day off on Easter Sunday, the Padres won’t need a fifth starter until April 6 at Houston. So it makes sense for the club not to use up a roster spot until then. Instead, he will open the season in the Minors.

There were talks of Ross replacing Dinelson Lamet, who is on the disabled list for a sprained elbow, as the No. 2 starter, but that position would most likely fall to Robbie Erlin.

So that leaves the Padres with 14 position players and four starting pitchers for their season opener. Of course, included in that list is Eric Hosmer. There were no questions on whether the $140-million second baseman would start on Thursday. He played all 162 games last season with the Kansas City Royals and it’s possible he will do the same with the Pads.

The Friars open the season Thursday against the Milwaukee Brewers. First pitch is at 1:10 p.m.

Here’s the full roster.


  • Austin Hedges
  • A.J. Ellis
  • Raffy Lopez


  • Eric Hosmer
  • Chase Headley
  • Freddy Galvis
  • Carlos Asuaje
  • Cory Spangenberg
  • Carlos Villanueva


  • Matt Szczur
  • Wil Myers
  • Hunter Renfroe
  • Manuel Margot
  • Jose Pirela


  • Robbie Erlin
  • Bryan Mitchell
  • Luis Perdomo
  • Clayton Richard
  • Kazuhisa Makita
  • Brad Hand
  • Jordan Lyles
  • Craig Stammen
  • Adam Cimber
  • Kyle McGrath
  • Kirby Yates