Chargers great LaDainian Tomlinson has been elected to the Breitbard Hall of Fame, joining ex-major league baseball players Chris Chambliss and Tony Clark in the Class of 2015.
The trio were chosen to join 144 others — including the late Ted Williams, Bill Walton and Marcus Allen — who have been honored by the San Diego Hall of Champions since 1952.
They will be inducted at the annual Salute to the Champions on Monday, Feb. 23, at the Town and Country Convention Center.
Tomlinson played for the Chargers from 2001-2009 before finishing his 11-year career with the New York Jets. He rushed for 13,684 yards and 145 touchdowns. He also was a prolific receiver out of the backfield, catching 624 passes for 4,772 yards.
In 2006, Tomlinson was selected the NFL MVP. He was a three-time first team All-Pro and three-time second teamer, making five Pro Bowl appearances.
Chambliss, an Oceanside native, had a 17-year major league career, playing for the Cleveland Indians, New York Yankees and Atlanta Braves. He also coached for five different teams. Chambliss was the Rookie of the Year for the Indians in 1971, and after being traded to the Yankees in 1974, was a member of the 1977 and 1978 World Series championship teams.
Tony Clark was as a prolific scorer in basketball while attending Valhalla and Christian Highs but he was also one of the section’s top baseball players. He went on to have a 15-year major league baseball career, batting .262 with 251 homers and 824 RBI. Earlier this year he was named executive director of the Major League Baseball Players Association.

San Diego High graduate Mebrahtom Keflezighi, winner of the 2014 Boston Marathon, will be one of a half-dozen professional athletes to be honored as 2014 Professional Athletes of the Year at the 69th Salute to the Champions.

Meb will be joined in the spotlight by the Chargers record-setting duo of quarterback Philip Rivers and tight end Antonio Gates, San Diego Sockers captain Kraig Chiles, San Diego Padres Pitcher of the Year Tyson Ross and former San Diego State basketball standout Kawhi Leonard, who was named the MVP of the 2014 NBA playoffs.
For Salute to the Champions ticket information, please contact Sarah Petitpierre Branco at or 619-699-2338.