Smart Start ignition interlock
A driver uses an breathalyzer ignition interlock device. Courtesy Smart Start

Controls on animals sold at pet stores, breathalyzer ignition interlocks for convicted drunk drivers and restrictions on plastic straws are among the new California laws that took effect Tuesday.

Here are 10 that have received the most publicity:

Assembly Bill 485 prohibits the sale of dogs, cats and rabbits in pet stores and requires that these animals be obtained from animal shelters or rescue groups.

Senate Bill 439 establishes 12 years as the minimum age for prosecution in juvenile court, unless a minor younger than 12 has committed murder or rape.

Senate Bill 1391 eliminates the ability to try a defendant under the age of 16 as an adult, thereby sending them to prison instead of a juvenile detention facility.

Assembly Bill 748 requires images of body cameras on police officers, and any other audio recording acquired by a police agency, to be disclosed to the public within 45 days after a police shooting or excessive force causes death or injury to a person.

Assembly Bill 3129 prohibits anyone convicted of a misdemeanor domestic violence offense after Jan. 1, 2019, from possessing a firearm for the rest of their lives.

Assembly Bill 2103 by San Diego’s Todd Gloria requires gun owners with a concealed carry license to undergo a minimum of eight hours of training, and demonstrate proficiency and safety on the shooting range.

Senate Bill 1046 requires Californians found guilty of driving under the influence to temporarily install breathalyzers in their vehicles to get their driver’s licenses back.

Assembly Bill 1976 requires employers to make reasonable efforts to provide a room or place for breastfeeding that is not a bathroom.

Assembly Bill 1884 limits restaurants statewide to giving out single-use straws only upon request of customers. It applies to full-service dining establishments but exempts fast-food restaurants. Restaurants violating the law could be fined $25 daily for violations, or a maximum of $300 per year.

Assembly Bill 626 allows cities and counties to authorize and regulate the sale of homemade foods.

The state Legislature reconvenes for the new year on Jan. 7.

City News Service contributed to this article.

Show comments

Chris Jennewein

Chris Jennewein is Editor & Publisher of Times of San Diego.