The head of the San Diego County Taxpayers Association was one of three people named Wednesday to be deputy chiefs of staff under incoming Mayor Kevin Faulconer.

Felipe Monroig will serve as the chief of community engagement, according to Faulconer, who takes office on Monday. Monroig previously was on the staff of former Councilman Carl DeMaio.

Mayor-elect Kevin Faulconer in his city council office. Courtesy Faulconer for Mayor,

“Felipe’s experience at City Hall makes him the perfect leader for my community inclusion program,” Faulconer said. “As a fluent Spanish speaker, Felipe will manage a diverse team that will work to communicate with all San Diegans.”

Monroig will step down as president and CEO of the taxpayers association March 7 and assume his new role March 10.

“I am incredibly proud of the work Felipe accomplished on behalf of taxpayers, and am excited about his new role with the city’s administration,” said Greg Stein, SDCTA’s board chairman.

Economic policy analyst Sean Karafin will serve as the organization’s interim president and CEO until a successor is hired.

Faulconer also announced that longtime communications advisor Matt Awbrey will be a deputy chief of staff in charge of communications, and Jaymie Bradford will be deputy chief of staff for policy.

Bradford served on the staff of ex-Mayor Jerry Sanders and recently took a leave of absence with the San Diego Association of Governments to assist Interim Mayor Todd Gloria.

– City News Service

Show comments