Current and former Times of San Diego editors Chris Stone (left), Ken Stone, Jennifer Vigil, Christine Huard and Alexander Nguyen with awards. Photo by Chris Jennewein

Times of San Diego editors picked up four first-place awards Tuesday from the San Diego Press Club, and the site itself was recognized as one of the three best local news websites.

The 7-month-old site placed third overall for best news website, behind the sites of the U-T San Diego and The Daily Transcript.

The awards were presented at a gala ceremony Tuesday evening at the Jacobs Center for Neighborhood Innovation. More than 350 awards were presented in 136 categories at the club’s 41st annual Excellence in Journalism Awards.

Contributing Photographer Chris Stone won two first-place awards and four other awards for her Times photography. The first-place awards were for coverage of the May wildfires and the memorial service for Padres legend Tony Gwynn.

Contributing Editor Ken Stone won first-place awards for his headlines on Times of San Diego and his video of local track star Eric Avila as well as a third award for news coverage.

In addition to the two Stones, Editor Chris Jennewein, Contributing Editor Alexander Nguyen and former Contributing Editors Christine Huard and Jennifer Vigil were named in the award for best local news website.

The Stones, husband-and-wife La Mesa residents, won a total of 13 awards for work at Times of San Diego and earlier at Patch.

The complete list of Press Club awards is available online.

Show comments

Chris Jennewein

Chris Jennewein is Editor & Publisher of Times of San Diego.