National University System headquarters
National University System headquarters in Torrey Pines. Courtesy of the university system

National University System announced Monday it has completed the acquisition of the Point Loma-based online institution Northcentral University, which will become the system’s newest affiliate member.

NUS, which is headquartered in La Jolla, now oversees five universities and colleges in the western U.S., including National University, City University of Seattle, John F. Kennedy University, WestMed College and now Northcentral University.

According to the NUS, the addition of Northcentral, which was announced in July, offers greater access to graduate-level degrees and improved college affordability to working adults.

The entire system now boasts an enrollment of more then 45,000 on-campus and online students from all 50 U.S. states and more than 40 other countries.

“As a nonprofit network, the National University System is dedicated to investing in our students and lowering the cost of a quality college degree though innovative approaches aimed at supporting their academic and workforce goals,” said NUS Chancellor Michael Cunningham.

Northcentral offers 22 doctoral programs, 25 master’s degree programs and “one-to-one” teaching methods, according to the NUS. With the acquisition, Northcentral University Provost David Harpool will become the university’s new president.

“Today’s announcement provides an exceptional opportunity for NCU to continue its commitment to providing a premier educational experience for students now and in the coming years,” Harpool said.

— From Staff and Wire Reports

Chris Jennewein

Chris Jennewein is Editor & Publisher of Times of San Diego.