An increasing number of San Diego Community College District students are transferring to four-year universities after earning their associate of arts and sciences degrees, according to a new analysis released Tuesday by the district.

Graduating community college students. Photo courtesy San Diego Community College District

Overall, 3,434 district students transferred to four-year institutions in the 2012-13 school year, up 7 percent from the 3,196 students who transferred in 2008-09.

The number of Latino students who transferred was up 19 percent, and the number of African-American students who transferred was up 7 percent.

San Diego State University was the top destination for transferring students, followed by UC San Diego, National University, University of Phoenix, Cal State San Marcos, University of San Diego, Ashford University, UC Berkeley, UCLA and Arizona State.

“We are excited to see our students transfer to four-year institutions in increasing numbers, as that is one of the primary missions of the community college district,” said Dr. Gail Conrad, the district’s acting vice-chancellor of student services. “We are working to make transition more seamless, which is the goal of the new Associate Degree for Transfer that has been developed for all community college students.”

Under the Associate Degree for Transfer program, eligible students are guaranteed acceptance to the California State University system.

The number of students who transferred from San Diego City College increased 14 percent, while San Diego Mesa College saw an increase of 2 percent, and San Diego Miramar College saw an increase of 16 percent.

The San Diego district is the second-largest of California’s 72 community college districts, serving some 130,000 students annually through its three colleges and seven continuing education campuses.

— From a San Diego Community College District press release

Chris Jennewein

Chris Jennewein is Editor & Publisher of Times of San Diego.

One reply on “More Community College Students Transferring to 4-Year Universities”

Comments are closed.