San Diego’s New Football Team to Get Players from SDSU, USD

Share This Article:
Ex-Rams coach Mike Martz with team president Kosha Irby at SDCCU Stadium as the league formally announced San Diego as one of the eight teams in the newly formed Alliance of American Football league. Photo courtesy of the AAF

The San Diego team in the Alliance of American Football will be allocated players from San Diego State, the University of San Diego, USC, Stanford, Washington, Colorado and nine other universities, the league announced Thursday.

Support Times of San Diego's growth
with a small monthly contribution

Players will be allocated to teams based on where they competed in college. The San Diego team will also be allocated players from four of San Diego State’s fellow members of the Mountain West Conference‘s West Division — Fresno State, San Jose State, Hawaii and UNLV — along with UC Davis, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Sacramento State, Azusa Pacific and Humboldt State.

If a player’s college is outside the league’s footprint, he will be allocated based on his most recent NFL or Canadian Football League team. The San Diego team will be allocated players from the Los Angeles Chargers, Los Angeles Rams and Oakland Raiders and the CFL’s BC Lions.

If a player’s college is outside the league’s footprint and he did not play in the NFL or CFL, he is available to be tendered a contract by any team in the league.

Allocation of players will be made in the fall.

“There is a significant amount of football talent looking to begin or extend their professional careers,” said Bill Polian, a co-founder of the league and its head of football and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. “The alliance will provide those players with a new opportunity to compete at a high level.”

The eight-team league is set to begin play Feb. 9.

City News Service

Widgets Magazine
Follow Us: