Here are the latest results for major state and local races as reported by the San Diego County Registrar of Voters and California Secretary of State.

Scroll through the table above for the latest San Diego County numbers. Statewide results for Governor and other California offices are also available online.

Here’s where the key races stand on Friday morning with 59% of county ballots counted and all state precincts reporting partial results. The counting of mail ballots is expected to continue for a number of days.

Governor — Gov. Gavin Newsom, who survived a recall last November, leads with 56% of the vote versus Republican challenger state Sen. Brian Dahle’s 17%. They’ll be in a runoff in November.

Rob Bonta

Other State Offices — Incumbents lead with Lt. Gov. Eleni Kounalakis at 52%, Secretary of Shirley Weber at 59%, Treasurer Fiona Ma at 57%, Atty. Gen. Rob Bonta at 54% and Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond at 46%. In the race for the open position of Controller, Republican Lanhee Chen leads with 37% to Democrat Malia Cohen’s 21%. Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara is at 37% with entrepreneur Robert Howell at 18% vying with Assemblyman Marc Levin at 17% for the runoff position.

U.S. Senate — Appointed Sen. Alex Padilla is leading all opponents with 54% of the vote for the unexpired term and 53% for a new term. He’ll face Republican Mark Meuser in the runoff.

Congress — Despite redistricting, all incumbent members of Congress had strong early leads. Darrell Issa in the 48th District had 60%, Mike Levin in the 49th District had 50%, Scott Peters in the 50th District had 54%, Sara Jacobs in the 51st District had 61% and Juan Vargas in the 52nd District had 60%.

Steve Padilla

State Senate — In the 18th District, former Chula Vista Mayor Steve Padilla, a Democrat, held a commanding lead of 62% to Republican challenger Alejandro Galicia’s 38%. In the 38th District, Encinitas Mayor Catherine Blakespear, a Democrat, will face Republican auto dealer Matt Gunderson in a runoff. Blakespear led early in the evening, but by Friday morning Gunderson was ahead at 45% to 44%. In the 40th District, incumbent Brian Jones held a widening lead over Democratic challenger Joseph Rocha of 54% to 46%.

State Assembly — In the 75th District, where redistricting put two Republican incumbents together, Marie Waldron leads Randy Voepel by 63% to 37%. In the 76th District, incumbent Brian Maienschein leads both his Republican opponents with 50% to Kristie Bruce-Lane’s 27% and June Cutter’s 22%. In the 77th District, incumbent Tasha Boerner Horvath leads Republican challenger Dan Downey by 61% to 39%. In the 78th District, incumbent Chris Ward is ahead of challenger Eric Gonzales by 67% to 33%. Assemblymember Akilah Weber has 64% of the vote in her bid for a full term. In the runoff to fill the remaining term in the open 80th District, former San Diego City Councilmember David Alvarez is leading Georgette Gómez, also a former councilmember, by 56% to 44%. But in the race for a full term, Gómez leads Alvarez by 35% to 32%.

Kelly Martinez

Sheriff — Undersheriff Kelly Martinez holds a big lead with 38% to former deputy city attorney John Hemmerling at 21% and retired sheriff’s commander Dave Myers with 18%.

Board of Supervisors ‚ Supervisor Nathan Fletcher leads with 62% in District 2 to ReOpen San Diego founder Amy Reichert’s 29%.

San Diego City Council — All three incumbents up for re-election led in their districts, with Jen Campbell at 30% to Linda Lukas’ 25%, Monica Montgomery-Steppe at 71% to Gloria Evangelista’s 22%, and Vivian Moreno at 63% to Antonio Martinez’ 37%. In the open 6th District, nonprofit executive Kent Lee had 39% to radio personality Tommy Hough’s 38%.

Board of Education — In District B, Shana Hazan led Godwin Higa by 53% to 25%. In District C, Cody Petterson had 45% to Becca Williams’ 32%.

Chula Vista Mayor — Councilmember John McCann leads with 32%, followed by two-time congressional candidate Ammar Campa-Najjar with 22% and Councilmember Jill Galvez with 20%.

Updated at 11:35 a.m., Friday, June 10, 2022

Chris Jennewein

Chris Jennewein is Editor & Publisher of Times of San Diego.